Tags

, , , , , , ,


I have my travel plans for 2012 but like other years where I want to go usually does not eventuate. Either it’s finance, time constraints or travel jobs appear out of the blue. However I still make my list and it gets smaller each year until I meet other photographers and travellers then it gets longer. I will list some of my favourite destinations that I have throughly enjoyed and hopefully this will encourage you to travel to these places.

1. NORTHERN PAKISTAN & WESTERN CHINA

Sust – Karakoram Highway, Pakistan

Don’t worry this is a Taliban free area. To travel from Rawalpindi to Kashgar is a journey you will never forget.

2. VENICE – ITALY

Venice

If you haven’t been here, put it on your list.

3. AFRICAN SAFARI

Zebras – Are they white with black stripes or vice versa?

An African safari should be high on everyone’s travel list. Avoid the main well-known parks as they get crowded, think Tsavo Kenya, Tanzania and Botswana

4. NEW ZEALAND – Possibly the most scenic country in the world

Lake Wakatipu – typical kiwi scenery

Okay I might be a slightly biased, but NZ is clean, beautiful and friendly.

5. MOROCCO

Medina in Marrakech

The sights, sounds and smells are incredible. Great news it’s a cheap travel destination, the food is great and the scenery very varied. It’s a great country to self drive, especially through the Atlas mountains.

6. PERU

Peru has a lot to offer, great food, historical sights and wonderful scenery. Cusco is one of my favourite towns.

7. MEXICO

Palenque

Mexico is truly a wonder and I discovered that most of the food that I have had at Mexican restaurants around the world is not available in Mexico. True Mexican cuisine is superb, don’t forget the tequila.

8. CYPRUS

Kyrenia Harbour

Don’t believe everything you hear about Cyprus and it’s division. I prefer the north, some prefer the south. Visit both sides and make your own judgement. A must have – grilled halloumi cheese for breakfast.

9. ATACAMA DESERT – CHILE

Simply amazing. The restaurants at San Pedro fantastic, El Tatio geysers incredible, lunar scenery and so much more. I want to go here again.

10. ALASKA

Mendenhall Glacier

There’s something about the remoteness of Alaska that I love. It’s wildlife is amazing, the scenery and peacefulness reminded me of New Zealand. Another place I want to revisit.

Finally my wish list for 2012. My Chinese friend told me to choose eight as it’s lucky.

1. Cuba

2. Ireland

3. Palestine

4. Botswana

5. Ecuador

6. Myanmar

7. China – Guilin, 3 Gorges and Lijiang

8. Laos

Wishing you all the best in 2012 and hopefully some of your travel plans come to fruition. Cheers and happy travels

 

