Tags

, , , , , , , ,


It’s so easy to get up at 5:30am in the morning with the expectation of an excellent breakfast and a trip to Haines and Chikoot Lake to see Alaskan wildlife.

Cruising towards Haines

After a short boat ride from Skagway to Haines, we took a bus to Chilkoot Lake

Bald Eagle - Chilkoot Lake

This was the first time I had seen Bald eagles so close, it was a photographer’s dream come true. We had finished our slow boat ride around Chilkoot Lake and as we headed back to our mooring I spotted my first grizzly bear. However it was in the distance and even with a large telephoto lens I was unable to get a good shot. My disappointment turned to joy as on our way back to Haines as we drove along the Chilkoot River there was a mother bear and her two cubs in the river, catching salmon for their lunch.

Chilkoot River

Main Street, Skagway, Alaska

After a wander through Skagway we embarked our cruiser and headed off for another adventure.

