Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


A mean scary looking fellow - definitely a telephoto shot. Tsavo, Kenya

I decided that I would continue my portrait shots, however, this time its the portraits from the animal kingdom. The subjects in these few photographs are mostly unwilling participants in my quest to get close-up photos of them. Admittedly I wouldn’t want to get too close to some of the subjects, mainly the rhinoceros and the water buffalo. The kea, mountain parrot of New Zealand is an exception, in fact they can be a nuisance as they are so curious. I suppose the plus point of taking portraits of fauna is that there is no hassle about being paid or having to ask permission but there again they can be difficult and it’s hard to make them smile.

Most of the photographs were taken with Nikon D100 & D700 with a Nikkor 70-200mm f2.8 lens. The one of the black bear and her cub was taken with a 24-70mm f2.8 lens as I was walking back to the car after photographing spawning salmon and the last thing I expected to stumble upon was a bear. As she had two cubs with her I didn’t want to get too close and I always kept one eye open for a  quick escape route, however by keeping quiet and one’s distance she and her cubs happily picked and ate the berries.

Sometimes there's a photo at our feet. Amazing colours. Tsavo, Kenya

When there's food about pelicans are easy to photograph. Valparáiso, Chile

Samango Monkey, Kenya

The pesky kea, Milford Sound, New Zealand

Black bear and cub, Lake Tahoe, California, USA

Flamingoes, Salar de Atacama, Chile

Dusky dolphins, Kaikoura, New Zealand

Black rhinoceros, Tsavo, Kenya

Bald eagle, Lake Chilkoot, Alaska, USA

King of the jungle on a wet morning, Tsavo, Kenya

Sea elephant cub, Point Piedras Blancas, California, USA

Lunch time for elephant calf, Tsavo, Kenya